Chateau Guiraud

The Botrytis

Botrytis

The noble rot (botrytis cinerea) allows the creation of Sauternes. At Guiraud, we are not looking for a perfectly ripped grape but we are looking for its concentration, its sublimation made by a microscopic fungus: the « noble rot* » or botrytis cinerea.

In September when the berries are fully ripe, nights are getting fresher, the morning dew and mist abound. All those elements contribute to the development of the fungus. The goldish grape turns violet; its skin gets weaker and weaker allowing the evaporation of water present in the grape. This is the crucial moment, where everything is on gamble.

The weakness of the fruit makes us fear the smallest rainfall. Risk is the price to pay in Sauternes, but without it great wine would not exist.

Now the flavours are starting to concentrate. Day after day the morning dew and the afternoon sun concentrate the range of aromas of the grape which produce a Sauternes wine with an exquisite taste. The fungus brings a sweet flavour to the wine and a great pallet of flattering aromas such as : black tea, white pepper, saffron, candied fruit, sandalwood,...all coming from this microscopic fungus, mysterious alchemist of our « terroir » (grape varieties).

In mouth, the concentration gives a tannic impression, mucous membranes clench under the tannins and sourness effects and then smooth with the wine's liquor.

From a rotten grape flows a pallet of complex perfumes and feelings. And so are the greatest Guiraud wines brought to birth: complex, rich, always fresh but never heavy, incredible wines fruit of an amazing work but also hazardous fruit of the sun, the dew and the wind.


Glossary


Noble rot :

a rot caused by the botrytis whenever this very fungus grows in specific weather conditions (morning mists, sunny afternoons) and on ripe and healthy berries. This rot brings sugar and flavour to the grapes.


To the glossary

Chateau Guiraud

Le Botrytis

Le Botrytis

La pourriture noble (botrytis cinerea) est la responsable de nos vins de Sauternes. A Guiraud non content d'obtenir au vignoble du raisin parfaitement mûr, nous recherchons sa concentration, sa sublimation par un champignon microscopique : la pourriture noble*.

A la maturité complète du raisin début septembre, les nuits fraîches, les rosées abondantes et les brouillards du matin vont permettre le développement de cette microscopique pourriture. Le raisin doré devient violet, sa peau se fragilise alors permettant ainsi l'évaporation de l'eau contenue dans la baie de raisin.

A ce stade, moment crucial ou tout se joue, la fragilité du fruit nous fait craindre la moindre pluie. C'est le risque de Sauternes, sans lequel il n'y a pas de grand vin !

Mais ainsi se concentrent toutes les saveurs. Jour après jour la rosée du matin et le soleil de l'après midi concentrent les arômes complexes du raisin nous donnant un grand Sauternes à la saveur inégalable. La sapidité d'un grand Guiraud n'est jamais une simple concentration de sucres et d'arômes. La pourriture noble donne aux raisins des arômes complexes de thé noir, de poivre blanc, de safran, des notes brûlées, des saveurs acides et sucrées complexes issues de ce champignon incroyable, alchimiste mystérieux de nos cépages et de nos terroirs.

En bouche la concentration donne une impression tannique, les muqueuses sont crispées par les tannins et les acides puis adoucies par la liqueur du vin.

D'un raisin pourri sort toute une gamme de saveurs et de sensations complexes. Ainsi naissent les grands Guiraud complexes, riches, toujours frais, jamais lourds, vins incroyables fruit du raisin maîtrisé mais aussi fruit hasardeux du soleil et du vent.


Glossaire


La pourriture noble :

pourriture due au botrytis, mais quand ce champignon se développe dans des conditions météorologiques particulières (brouillards matinaux, journées ensoleillées), et sur des raisins mûrs et intacts, il enrichit les raisins en sucre et en arômes.


Voir tout le glossaire